- Introduction to My Reports
- How to use My Reports to Drill Down for Information
- How to Copy/Paste Data from My Reports
- How My Reports are Saved, Named, and Deleted
Introduction to My Reports
Certain reports in Connected, which tend to be focused on month end/year end reconciliation, support an output to "My Reports". This output option is unique because the reports support drill down (summary and detail) but are also saved (by user) so that they can be viewed again without re-generating the report.
The following is a sample of how the My Reports selection is made and the output location.
Key Features of My Reports
The following are key features of My Reports:
- Support for drill down to source of either Summary or Detailed
- Store up to 15 different versions reports, which are are available until deleted. All My Reports are saved even if the application is closed and reopened.
- My Reports are specific to user accounts, meaning, each user can have up to 15 different versions of the table reports stored under My Reports that are unique to that user. This also keeps sensitive reports linked to the user that generated them only. See Creating Connected User Accounts and Access Privileges for more information.
Reports that Support a My Reports Output
The following reports support "My Reports" output:
- Chart of Accounts
- Income Statement
- Balance Sheet
- Trial Balance
- Customer Aging
- Vendor Aging
- Inventory Valuation
How to use My Reports to Drill Down for Information
The Summarized version of a report -=> Drills down to the GL Account window, listing all transactions. From there, users can continue to drill down to the individual transactions.
The Detailed version of a report -=> Drills down to the GL Transaction behind the selected line item.
What is unique about the My Reports section, is the drill down that is available to the source data, directly from the My Reports window.
Example: Trial Balance - Summary Drill Down
The following screen shows the Trial Balance with a Report Type selection of "Summary". When "My Reports" is selected, the output will appear under the "My Reports" of the Connected Desktop.
Once the output is created, a line can double clicked to drill down.
By clicking on this line and drilling down, the Accounts Window opens on top of the My Reports window. Double click the detail line, within the Accounts window to see the specific transaction.
Example: Trial Balance - Detail Drill Down
The following screen shows the Trial Balance with a Report Type selection of "Detailed". When "My Reports" is selected, the output will appear under the "My Reports" of the Connected Desktop.
Once the output is created, a detail line can double clicked to drill down.
TIP: Click the hyperlink beside the "Source" field to drill down to source transaction.
How to Copy/Paste Data from My Reports
All or select data can be copied/pasted directly into a spreadsheet from My Reports output.
To Copy/Paste all or selected data:
Hover the mouse over the "Copy" icon on the top right-hand side as indicated below.
Click the "Copy" icon and a menu will appear with four options.
Copy Selection - copy only the selected lines
Copy Selection with Column Labels - copy only the selected lines and the Column Labels
Copy Selection with Entire Header - copy selected lines, column labels, and the report header information
Copy Entire Report - All data will be copied, including totals, column labels, and report header information
After a selection is made, a user can then open a spreadsheet and paste the information as selected.
TIP: If a selection is to be copied, highlight the specific rows of data before making a copy selection
Below is an example of the "Copy Entire Report" option.
How My Reports are Saved, Named, and Deleted
When a user sends a report to the My Report window, it is saved and named using the following:
-Report Type (Trial Balance Summarized)
This way, unique copies of the same report, but run at different times/dates, can be saved. The inclusion of the date/time can help with changes made to the same report run at different date/times, which can be very useful for reconciliations.
Each user can save up to 15 different My Reports under their login. These are unique to that user, and will not be seen by any other users. See Creating Connected User Accounts and Access Privileges for more information on user accounts.
To delete a report in the My Reports window, select it in the drop down list, and then press the Trash icon to the right of the name.